The Voyage Home

Posted: September 7, 2012 by kenkrebs in FEMA
Tags: , , , , ,

“Alright Night, here’s the deal.  I wasn’t able to get very far into that tablet.  I was only able to figure out a few things.”

“Like what Nic?  Anything worthwhile?”

Nic smiled  “Depends.  Do you consider names of low ranking officers and the location of a potential base wothwile?”

“You’re kidding, right?”

Nic handed me the tablet, and he wasn’t kidding.  Listed there on the screen were three names, and a set of coordinates in the USA.

I thanked Nic and my new friends at Hollinwood, and gave them a comm link so they could contact us at FEMA whenever they wanted.  I didn’t want to leave, but I missed my friends at FEMA.  Plus, with the news from this tablet, I needed to start investigating the coordinates.

Making my way through the city back to where I left my boat, I got the feeling I was being followed.  Looking behind me, I could see a shadowy figure hugging the buildings.  I took a sharp turn down an alley and hid behind a dumpster.  when the figure reached the opening, I could tell it wasn’t a Zombie.  Readying my Charbroiler, I called out.

“Who’s there, and why are you following me?”

“Night? Its me, Kadie.  I want to come with you, Nic and Kate didnt feel right letting you go off on your own.”

I emerged from my hiding place, and looked at her. “Alright, lets get moving then.  I want to get to the docks before nightfall.”

We made our way forward with little to no communication.  We get to the docks with no problems, untie the boat and cast off.

“Alright, Kadie, here’s the deal.  If you are going to be coming with me, you have to do what I say.  It’s going to be a few days before we reach land again.  If you have issues with taking orders from me, I will take you in closer to land and drop you off and you can go back to the cemetery.”

“No, I’m good, lets go.”  she said, smiling from ear to ear

“That’s what I like to hear”

Leave a Reply

