The Iron Curtain

Posted: April 24, 2012 by kenkrebs in FEMA
Tags: , , , , , ,

“I think so… I’ve never seen a Russian in person though.  What would one be doing here anyway?” I said, looking back at the man shooting out the window.

“Bloody Zombies, stay away from here.  You are an insult to Mother Russia and God Almighty!”  the man yelled, throwing a moltov down into the street below.

I motioned for the team to move to detain him.  We silently spread into the room taking up a place around Russain.

“Salutations Comrades, drink?”  The Russian said, indicating to the vodka bottles off to the side “I mean you no harm, Comrades, please lower your weapons, or help me kill the walkers who are trying to eat your comrades.”

I looked out the window to see more zeds than there should be in this part of town.  “Team, cover fire!  Pink, get your team inside, we will cover you!”

“Negative, we’ve got this.” came her reply

“Pink, there are more coming up from your six, way to many for us to handle.  We have to get you and your team to safety, and if that means scrubbing the mission so be it.  We need to get back to base.” I explained to her.  “Now is not the time to Rambo out on us.”

“…Alright, get the doors open, and cover us, we’re making a break for it.” came her delayed response.  I could tell she didn’t really want to do this.

“Thomas, Muzzables, go cover the door, make sure they can get in when they get here.  Blunbad, you’re with me.  We’re going to provide cover fire from up here.”

A few minutes and many bullets later, Pink and her team are safe inside the building.

“Comrades, allow me to introduce myself.  My name is Vicktor Reznov, former KGB.  Who might you be?”

We gave him our names and told him we were from the old FEMA base down the road.

“Well met.  Shall we extract ourselves from this situation?  We may talk more at your base, if you permit me entrance.” Vicktor said “I know a way out of here that is fairly Zombie free, if you wish to follow me?”  he finished, collecting his vodka and heading off, not waiting for a reply.

“Do you think we can trust him?” Pink asked me

“At this point, I’m not sure, but if he can help us get past all that…” I said, motioning out to the horde of zombies “I think we ought to give him a shot.”

Leave a Reply

