Cleaning House, pt. 3

Posted: April 16, 2012 by kenkrebs in FEMA
Tags: , , , , , , ,

“I asked you a question.  Who the hell are you, and what are you doing in my home?” The man holding the gun asked.

“I’m Night Angel, and these are my allies, Deadly Sins, Thomas420 and Zeus666.  We’re trying to clear out the infected so that we can get the power back on.  We don’t want any trouble with those still living.  May I ask who you are?”

“Name’s 13wayz, and I wouldn’t quite say that I’m living, but I’m not dead either.”  the man said, still pointing the gun at us.

“What do you mean by that?” Deadly asked him

The man shined his flashlight onto his face and what we saw was greatly disturbing.  His face was all bloody, looking like that of a zombie.

“I’ve eaten the flesh of the dead, and the zombification process for some reason didn’t kill me, instead just horribly disfigured me.”  He stated, lowering his gun.  “I was  a FEMA employee before the Outbreak, and I can move among the dead more freely than you.  The levels below are overrun with them, if you will allow me to accompany you, I will scout ahead to help you get out of there alive.”

“It would be an honor.” Zeus stated, extending his hand to shake, which 13wayz declined.

“I don’t want to potentially spread the infection.” he stated

Over the next few hours, we swept through the remaining floors of the compound and reached the boiler room.  Reactivating the boiler and power generators, we got the lights and comm systems back online.

“Furie, can you hear me?” I radioed to the surface

“Loud and clear Night, I see you got the lights back on, good job.”

“Yeah, well, we had a little help from an old FEMA worker who… well, you will have to meet him.  We’re going to clear out the last few levels and will be back up when done.”

“Copy that.  We will be ready for you.  Pinkerton just got back from doing a supply run, she came back with some fresh meat and veggies.  We will save all of you a plate.  Furie, over and out.”

 

I turned to 13wayz and asked him “What do you know about the outbreak?”

“All I know is that the government knew about it.  They’re the ones who unleashed the zombies into this base.  I survived by hiding in a supply closet, and then when it sounded like it had calmed down a little, I emerged to find a shitload of zombies and no one else still alive. I had to fight to stay alive, and in the end had to eat what I killed.  I’m not proud of it, but I did what I had to do.”

“Well, once we get out of here, there is this place in New Castle called Rite Aid where everyone looks like you, because they did what they had to do to survive.  We could try to get you hooked up with them if you wish.”  Thomas said

“Sounds good to me.” came the reply.

 

Leave a Reply

